By Daniel Feliciano

15th May, 2023 | 5:10pm

Dermot Gallagher drops verdict on penalty controversy in West Ham United loss v Brentford live on Sky Sports

Dermot Gallagher believes it was the right decision to rule out Danny Ings’ goal for West Ham against Brentford due to an accidental handball in the build-up.

A much-changed Hammers lineup fell to a 2-0 defeat on the road, but saw a late consolation goal ruled out when the ball rebounded off the post and onto Divin Mubama’s hand in the build-up.

But speaking on Sky Sports News’ Ref Watch (15 May, 11:47), former Premier League referee Gallagher believes it’s a foul that would get given every time because of how high his arms were.

“Everyone thinks handball is harsh, and we discuss it enough, but I think if the arm is that high and it strikes the arm in the build-up to a goal then it’s going to be given every time,” he said.

“You feel for the player because he’ll argue he didn’t mean to do it, but his arms are up to his shoulder height.

“What I would say as well is that it was only a recommendation [from VAR]. The referee goes across to look at it and he made the decision. He had a good look at it before he made the decision, and this is an on-field decision from the referee.”

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now


There is no way that anyone can claim the handball from Mubama was intentional, and the fact that it was accidental should prove that the goal should stand.

We’ve seen on several occasions this season where an accidental handball has seen a goal chalked off because the player who handled it scored, but when they weren’t the goalscorer it has stood.

That should have been the case here because clearly Mubama has no intention of handling the ball as it hits the post and he is in mid-air after trying to head it.

It’s a good thing West Ham have already secured their Premier League status with two games to go otherwise this could have been a decision that genuinely caused our relegation.

Our attentions now turn to the Europa Conference League second leg, and thankfully this decision won’t matter too much for the rest of the season. But the inconsistencies remain and continue to be prominent with officials.