By Dan Plumley

7th Oct, 2022 | 4:10pm

We’re delighted to welcome football finance expert Dr Daniel Plumley as our exclusive West Ham United columnist. Each week he’ll be giving his views on the biggest talking points at the London Stadium...

Dan Plumley has insisted that Premier League clubs, including West Ham United, hold the power when it comes to a new independent regulator being introduced.

It looked likely to go ahead, until Liz Truss was voted in as Prime Minister and poured cold water on it within weeks, something that Premier League clubs will likely welcome.

The news comes after David Sullivan was said to have donated £25,000 to the Conservative Party through Conegate, as well as Karren Brady spoke out and came under criticism [Private Eye].

“The Premier League and its clubs clearly don’t want independent regulation,” he exclusively told West Ham Zone.

“You’re not breaking ground there, they were always going to block and delay, my take on this is it will come down to the Government. If we’re talking about independent regulation, it’s going to have to come from the Government, it doesn’t work any other way.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

“You’ve seen this off the back of the report, it would be picked up by this Government and then a new Prime Minister comes in and pours cold water on it straight away, I think until we see them grab hold of this, I’m sceptical of this happening, it has to come from there.

“You may have to play the long game with it, but the Premier League don’t want it, the clubs don’t want it and that’s where you get into that battle, the clubs hold the power.”

So, it looks as though everything is on ice for now.

With the next general election not for a couple of years either, it looks as though it will be made to wait, and even then, based on this it would need a Labour Government to come into force.

All eyes are on that over the years to come, but with Sullivan getting involved too, matters may be much closer to home at the London Stadium than elsewhere in the Premier League.