
Dermot Gallagher shares verdict on controversial decisions in West Ham win v Fulham
Dermot Gallagher feels West Ham got away with one incorrect VAR call during their 3-1 win over Fulham in the Premier League on Sunday.
The Hammers came from 1-0 down to win at the London Stadium thanks to goals from Jarred Bowen, Gianluca Scamacca and Michail Antonio, making it three wins on the bounce for the first time this season.
But there was controversy around the goals scored by Scamacca and Antonio and while speaking during his “Ref watch” segment on Sky Sports [10 October], former FIFA and Premier League official Gallagher admitted he thought the Hammers got a bit lucky.

“I actually think it touches his [Scamacca] hand – and to be fair to the VAR he studied it, studied it and studied it,” he said.
“He looked at it for two minutes and 40 seconds. He checked every single angle and he wasn’t convinced it struck the hand. If he’s not convinced, he can’t give it.
“I think it touches his hand because of the way the ball travels down. It was a difficult call for the VAR. He didn’t look at it and throw it away. Nobody can criticise the VAR for being diligent.
“The second one is more doubtful, the first one is where it strikes the hand as the trajectory of the ball goes down.”
Gallagher then commented on the Antonio goal, and admitted that while it was handball it couldn’t be ruled out by VAR.
“I think it was a handball originally as he swipes at it but because it’s not picked up by the referee, it goes on and it doesn’t materialise in a goal because Fulham players touch the ball and the play resets.
“The law says if it strikes his hand, it’s got to go directly to a player or his colleague to be penalised.
“It goes to the same player and that’s where it is complicated. If it was picked up in play that it was handball then it’s given as a foul, but the VAR deemed it wasn’t deliberate handball so he can’t penalise it.”

About time
VAR hasn’t been the friendliest to us in the past, so it’s about time something went our way this season after a torrid start.
Scamacca was onside quite clearly from the replay, and no matter what anyone says the replays are inconclusive as to whether the ball bounced up on to his arm or not. Either way, it would’ve been incredibly harsh if it had been ruled out because of that.
As for Antonio, we got lucky. Plain and simple.
He quite clearly used his arm to swipe it but the rules state that it didn’t lead directly to a goal, even though he was the one who scored, so it can’t be pulled back.
That’s a problem for VAR and the rule-makers to deal with though, not West Ham, and while it’s harsh on Fulham we’ve had our fair share of those calls go against us in the past so it’s great that it’s starting to balance itself out.